Thoughtful Gifts for Curious People

The Well-Tempered Clavier Tea Towel


| /


J. S. Bach’s groundbreaking composition of forty-eight Preludes and Fugues in every major and minor key was published in two books, twenty years apart. Each book begins with a Prelude and Fugue in C major, then a pair in C minor, running through all the keys up to B major and B minor. While Bach was not the first composer to produce a set of compositions in every key, their enduring greatness comes from the beauty, intricacy and sheer variety of these short pieces. We reproduce a typical contents page from each book, showing the first few bars of each piece as an aide memoire for the performer, and a suitable subject for meditative dish-drying. Choose your favourite of Book 1 or Book 2 - or buy both and save.

Care guide: Machine washable. 

  • Approximately 68 x 45 cm, with corner hanging tag.
  • 100% cotton.